What Does It Mean to be Born Again

John 3:3-8 “Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God. Nicodemus saith unto him, How can a man be born when he is old? can he enter the second time into his mother’s womb, and be born? Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again. The wind bloweth where it listeth, and thou hearest the sound thereof, but canst not tell whence it cometh, and whither it goeth: so is every one that is born of the Spirit.”

In order for us to go to heaven we must be born again. However, this is not a physical rebirth, but a spiritual one. When we are born physically we have a sin nature, but when we are born again spiritually we receive a new nature that does not want to sin, but want’s to please God.

The Bible says in 2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.”

After we are born again and receive this new nature our old sinful nature does not go away, but the two are at constant war with each other.

Romans 7:18-25 “For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.”

These two natures will continue to war against each other until Christ delivers us from this body either at death or when He returns and changes our bodies to where we no longer have a sin nature, and can no longer die.

However, when we accept Jesus Christ as our Savior and become born again, God gives us the Holy Spirit along with our new nature in order to empower us to have victory over our sin nature.

We will still sin after we are born again, but the more we read the Bible and pray for God to help us overcome our sin the more victorious our new nature will be over our sin nature.

If you would like to find out how you can be born again by accepting Jesus Christ as your Savior, please go to https://watchmenonthewallministries.wordpress.com/are-you-going-to-heaven/

Please share this with everyone you can.

Thank you.

This entry was posted in Baisic Christian Beliefs, Bible Study and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

